Complete Novelettes and Short Stories:

  • Sale
  • $5.00
  • Regular price $25.00

The Complete Novelettes and Short Stories of Ivan Turgenev is a compilation which contains the entire output of Turgenev's novelettes and short stories available in English.

  • A Sportsman's Sketches: Volume I
  • A Sportsman's Sketches: Volume II
  • The Jew
  • Mumu
  • A Tour in the Forest
  • Visions
  • Phantoms
  • The Brigadier
  • A Strange Story
  • Knock, Knock, Knock
  • Old Portraits
  • A Desperate Character
  • The Song of Triumphant Love
  • How Russians Meet Death
  • The Rendezvous
  • Enough
  • The Dream

Ivan Sergeyevich Turgenev was a novelist, poet, and dramatist, and now ranks as one of the towering figures of Russian literature. His major works include the short-story collection A Sportsman’s Sketches(1852) and the novels Rudin (1856), Home of the Gentry (1859), On the Eve (1860), and Fathers and Sons (1862). These works offer realistic, affectionate portrayals of the Russian peasantry and penetrating studies of the Russian intelligentsia who were attempting to move the country into a new age. His masterpiece, Fathers and Sons, is considered one of the greatest novels of the nineteenth century.

Turgenev was a contemporary with Fyodor Dostoevsky and Leo Tolstoy. While these wrote about church and religion, Turgenev was more concerned with the movement toward social reform in Russia.